DaveInDaytona
07-25-2005, 08:10 PM
Since my email is all over the place (like at the bottom of every page here) I get some interesting stuff.
Today I got one of the ones that really pissed me off and it's done so well I think it would probably work in a lot of cases if you weren't paying attention.
It says:
Delivered-To: daytonas-dave@daytonasportbikes.com
Cc: recipient list not shown: ;
Reply-To: <accounting@paypal.com>
From: "Account Service" <service@paypal.com>
Subject: Verify your PayPal Account
Date: Mon, 25 Jul 2005 22.01.00 +0200
X-Mailer: Microsoft Outlook Express 6.00.2800.1081
X-DCC-ipwdcc-1-Metrics: host219.ipowerweb.com 208; Body=2 Fuz1=115 Fuz2=231
We recently have determined that different computers have logged into your PayPal account, and multiple password failures were present before the login. One of our Customer Service employees has already tryed to telephonically reach you. As our employee did not manage to reach you, this email has been sent to your notice.
Therefore your account has been temporary suspended. We need you to confirm your identity in order to regain full privileges of your account.
If this is not completed by July 28, 2005, we reserve the right to terminate all privileges of your account indefinitly, as it may have been used for fraudulent purposes. We thank you for your cooperation in this manner.
To confirm your identity please follow the link below:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_login-run
Thank you for your patience in this matter.
PayPal - Customer Service
Please do not reply to this e-mail as this is only a notification. Mail sent to this address cannot be answered.
The link looks good, but instead it goes to http://paypal.com.login-user2665.info/webscr.php?cmd=LogIn , which isn't a paypal site, but it sure looks like one.
The domain was registered yesterday and says it belong to:
Registrant Name:Laura Noland
Registrant Organization:Laura Noland
Registrant Street1:7681 Lake Gandy Circle
Registrant City:Orlando
Registrant State/Province:FL
Registrant Postal Code:32810
Registrant Country:US
Registrant Phone:+1.3432432323
Registrant Email:sarmaleroz@yahoo.com
and I'm going to guess she doesn't run Paypal from that address. I hate people that steal, and if they take advantage of people to benefit themselves it's even worse.
Just my friendly warning..... before you enter ANY personal information ANYWHERE be sure you are where you think you are or some low life bastard is going to try to steal what you worked hard to get.
Stepping off my soapbox now.
Today I got one of the ones that really pissed me off and it's done so well I think it would probably work in a lot of cases if you weren't paying attention.
It says:
Delivered-To: daytonas-dave@daytonasportbikes.com
Cc: recipient list not shown: ;
Reply-To: <accounting@paypal.com>
From: "Account Service" <service@paypal.com>
Subject: Verify your PayPal Account
Date: Mon, 25 Jul 2005 22.01.00 +0200
X-Mailer: Microsoft Outlook Express 6.00.2800.1081
X-DCC-ipwdcc-1-Metrics: host219.ipowerweb.com 208; Body=2 Fuz1=115 Fuz2=231
We recently have determined that different computers have logged into your PayPal account, and multiple password failures were present before the login. One of our Customer Service employees has already tryed to telephonically reach you. As our employee did not manage to reach you, this email has been sent to your notice.
Therefore your account has been temporary suspended. We need you to confirm your identity in order to regain full privileges of your account.
If this is not completed by July 28, 2005, we reserve the right to terminate all privileges of your account indefinitly, as it may have been used for fraudulent purposes. We thank you for your cooperation in this manner.
To confirm your identity please follow the link below:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_login-run
Thank you for your patience in this matter.
PayPal - Customer Service
Please do not reply to this e-mail as this is only a notification. Mail sent to this address cannot be answered.
The link looks good, but instead it goes to http://paypal.com.login-user2665.info/webscr.php?cmd=LogIn , which isn't a paypal site, but it sure looks like one.
The domain was registered yesterday and says it belong to:
Registrant Name:Laura Noland
Registrant Organization:Laura Noland
Registrant Street1:7681 Lake Gandy Circle
Registrant City:Orlando
Registrant State/Province:FL
Registrant Postal Code:32810
Registrant Country:US
Registrant Phone:+1.3432432323
Registrant Email:sarmaleroz@yahoo.com
and I'm going to guess she doesn't run Paypal from that address. I hate people that steal, and if they take advantage of people to benefit themselves it's even worse.
Just my friendly warning..... before you enter ANY personal information ANYWHERE be sure you are where you think you are or some low life bastard is going to try to steal what you worked hard to get.
Stepping off my soapbox now.